Nishan-e-Haider Holders – Heroes Of Pakistan



Nishan-e-Haider is the Highest Military Award of Pakistan. Nishan-e-Haider means “Emblem of Haider”, where Haider is the epithet of Hazrat Ali and means Lion. Nishan-e-Haider was established on 16 March 1957; however it was applied from the date of Pakistan’s independence on 14 August 1947.

Nishan-e-Haider is made of gun metal, captured from the enemy in the previous wars, with a green ribbon and a star with five points is awarded to soldiers who show great bravery and courage in war or on active duty. All recipients of “Nishan-e-Haider’ gave away the most valuable thing they had – their lives – in serving the nation and in defending the frontiers of Pakistan.

Some Facts about Nishan-e-Haider

It is named after the name of Hazrat Ali (R.A), fourth caliph of Islam. Gun metal used for its manufacturing, is captured from the enemy in the previous wars. It is only awarded to personnel of Armed Forces of Pakistan, without any discrimination of rank.

So far total 10 Nishan-e-Haider awards have been awarded, to 7 officers and 3 soldiers. Nine Nishan-e-Haider recipients have been from Pakistan Army and one from Pakistan Air Force. All the 10 recipients got this award for fighting against India. One Nishan-e-Haider was awarded for the 1948 war, one for 1958, one for 1965, five for 1971 and two for 1999 Kargil War.

Nishan-e-Haider is can only be awarded posthumously (awarded only to those armed forces personnel who have lost their lives, fighting with the enemy or performing their duty). Hilal-e-Kashmir (posthumous) is declared as equivalent to Nishan-e-Haider by Government of Pakistan. Here is a brief account of these men, who would be remembered for their feats of courage, bravery and selflessness

Credits: Abdul Rehman


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here